Previous Presidents & Chairs

Past BIALL Presidents

2017-18 Anneli Sarkanen (Fieldfisher, London)
2016-17 Sandra Smythe (Mishcon de Reya, London)
2015-16 Karen Palmer (Simmons & Simmons LLP, London)
2014-15 Marianne Barber (The University of Law, Chester)
2013-14 Jas Breslin (Morrison & Foerster LLP, London)
2012-13 James Mullan (Field Fisher Waterhouse LLP)
2011-12 Susan Scorey (The College of Law)
2010-11 David Wills (Squire Law Library, University of Cambridge)
2009-10 Daniella King (Winckworth Sherwood, London)
2008-09 Jackie Fishleigh (Payne Hicks Beach, London)

BIALL Vice-Presidents

BIALL has the power in its Constitution to invite an advisor to join as a Vice-President to provide expertise in a particular area for three years. Chris Holland, Librarian of the Law Society in London was the first person to occupy this role as an advisor on copyright in 2009.

2009 – 2012 Chris Holland (The Law Society/ The College of Law)

BIALL Chairs

Before the change in the constitution, the Chair was the elected executive head of BIALL.
2007-08 Jennefer Aston (Bar Council of Ireland)
2006-07 Roger Cook (Mayer Brown International LLP, London)
2005-06 Hazel Hewison (Oxford Institute of Legal Practice)
2004-05 Susan Doe (Sidley Austin, Brown & Wood, London)
2003-04 Victoria Jannetta (KPMG, London)
2001-03 Valerie Stevenson (University of Aberdeen Library)
2000-01 John Furlong (Matheson Ormsby Prentice, Dublin)
1999-00 Elaine Blaxter (University of Strathclyde Library)
1998-99 Michael Maher (Eversheds, Birmingham)
1997-98 Loyita Worley (Richards Butler, London)
1996-97 David Hart (University of Dundee Law Library)
1995-96 Barbara Tearle (Bodleian Law Library)
1994-95 Jules Winterton (Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library)
1992-94 Lynn Quiney (The Law Society Library)
1989-92 Elizabeth Nash (University of Wales, Cardiff, Law Library)
1988-89 Muriel Anderson (Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library)
1986-88 Alex Noel-Tod (University of East Anglia Law Library)
1982-86 John Jeffries (University of Kent Law Library)
1980-82 Robert Logan (Bodleian Law Library)
1976-80 Wallace Breem (Inner Temple Library)
1975-76 Paul Richardson (The Law Society Library)
1969-75 Don Daintree (Leeds College of Commerce Library School)

BIALL Honorary Presidents and Vice-Presidents

The previous Constitution provided that “The Council may invite any person to be President or Vice-President, whose appointment would be advantageous to the Association”. The positions of President and Vice-President were honorary and the term of office was three years, renewable on the invitation of BIALL Council.

This system was superseded in 2008 by the new system of governance which replaced the Chair, Vice-Chair and Immediate Past Chair with an elected President, President-Elect and Immediate Past President.

Honorary Presidents

  • 1999-08 Barbara Tearle (formerly Bodleian Law Librarian)
  • 1993-99 Mary Blake (formerly Law Librarian, University of Birmingham)
  • 1990-93 Betty Moys (formerly Librarian of Goldsmiths College)
  • 1988-90 Wallace Breem (Librarian of the Inner Temple)
  • 1985-88 Willi Steiner (Librarian of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies)
  • 1983-85 Dr Kenneth Humphreys (formerly Librarian of the University of Birmingham and of the European University Institute in Florence)
  • 1980-83 Professor L C B Gower
  • 1976-80 Lord Scarman
  • 1972-76 Professor Owen Hood Phillips (University of Birmingham)

Honorary Vice-Presidents        

  • 2001-08 Sally Phillips (formerly Librarian of the Supreme Court)
  • 1997-01 Derek Way (formerly Law Librarian, University of Liverpool)
  • 1991-96 Muriel Anderson (formerly Librarian of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies)
  • 1987-93 Mary Blake (formerly Law Librarian, University of Birmingham)
  • 1987-90 Betty Moys (formerly Librarian of Goldsmiths College)
  • 1980-88 Wallace Breem (Librarian of the Inner Temple)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This