Wallace Breem Memorial Award

BIALL Awards

The British and Irish Association of Law Librarians (BIALL) has awarded the Wallace Breem Memorial Award 2018 to the Sierra Leone Pro-bono Project. The award was presented by Anneli Sarkanen, President of BIALL, to Tony Simmonds and Sarah Bracey who accepted the award on behalf of all who have been involved, at the BIALL Annual Dinner at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole on 8th June 2018.

The Wallace Breem Memorial Award is presented every two years and is sponsored by The Inner Temple and BIALL. It is designed to recognize especially good contributions to law librarianship, special research or other projects.
BIALL’s involvement with the legal library community in Sierra Leone began in 2014 and has consisted of working groups, reports, volunteers and donations.
Various members have contributed their time and effort towards this pro-bono initiative championing values of access to legal information and proudly representing BIALL. The project as a whole highlights what we perhaps take for granted in the UK and Ireland – resources such as BAILII, support from associations like BIALL, and historic institutions such as Inner Temple.
Most recently, in March 2017, two volunteers travelled to deliver training and help progress the work first begun by BIALL colleagues. They worked to impart knowledge and empower library staff, building relationships and ensuring continuing development. This award not only recognizes the amount of work they put into this trip, but also the enthusiasm they had in approaching the project and the professionalism they showed throughout.
Momo Turay, secretary to the UK Sierra Leone Pro Bono Network, stated “You have demonstrated a great deal of commitment to our cause by your professional conduct and advice with a great deal of humility”

The Wallace Breem Memorial Award is presented every two years and is sponsored by The Inner Temple and BIALL. The Award, worth £600, is designed to recognise especially good contributions to law librarianship, or provide financial assistance for special research or other projects at doctorate level or above. The broad terms of the Award allow the adjudication panel to consider the widest range of publications, projects in-hand or proposed, assistance with travel or research costs, and so on.



The Award was inaugurated in 1990 in memory of Wallace Breem, former librarian of The Inner Temple Library and a founder member of BIALL who, at various times, held the offices of Secretary, Treasurer, Chairman, Vice-President and President. More information on Wallace Breem

The Awards & Bursaries Committee will be seeing nominations for the award in Spring 2020, at which an online form will be available.

Nominations will be considered by a panel, consisting of representatives from BIALL and The Inner Temple. The award will then be presented at the BIALL Annual Conference dinner.


2016: Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library in recognition for two ongoing projects: the Current Awareness column published in Legal Information Management; and the annual BIALL/SLS Survey of Academic Law Libraries.

2014: Natasha Choolhun for her work initiating and taking forward BIALL’s work on legal information literacy, resulting in the Legal Information Literacy Toolkit.

2012: Inner Temple Library for ‘Transcripts of Judicial Proceedings in England and Wales: a Guide to Sources’, the daily current awareness blog and the Access to Law Database.

2010: Steven Whittle, Information Systems Manager at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies for his considerable contribution to projects such as the FLAG (Foreign Law Guide) database, Intute Law, the CALIM (Current Awareness for Legal Information Managers) database and the FLARE Index to Treaties.

2008: Cathie Jackson for her work on Citing the Law.

2004: Peter Clinch for the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.

2002: Peter Clinch for the FLAG project.

2000: Sarah Carter for LAWLINKS

1998: Betty Moys and Jules Winterton for their joint editing of Information Sources in Law, 2nd ed, 1997

1996: Jill Newell for her current awareness section in the Law Librarian

1994: Christine Miskin for the Legal Journals Index

1992: Guy Holborn for Sources of Biographical Information on Past Lawyers. The Law Librarian Vol 23 1992.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This